Visualization tips for geoscientists – Matlab

by

MyCarta

Introduction

In my last post I described how to create a powerful, nondirectional shading for a geophysical surface using the slope of the data to assign the shading intensity (i.e. areas of greater slope are assigned darker shading). Today I will show hot to create a similar effect in Matlab.

Since the data set I use is from my unpublished thesis in Geology, I am not able to share it, and you will have to use your own data, but the Matlab code is simply adapted. The code snippets below assume you have a geophysical surface already imported in the workspace and stored in a variable called “data”, as well as the derivative in a variable called “data_slope”.

Method 1 – with a slope mask and transparency

Some time ago I read this interesting Image Processing blog post by Steve Eddins at Mathworks on overlaying images using transparency. I encourage readers to take…

View original post 666 more words

Leave a Reply

