Why Open Research?

by

Erin C. McKiernan

In May of this year, I was awarded a flash grant by the Shuttleworth Foundation to make an ‘open’ project of my choosing a reality. On November 14th, at OpenCon 2015 in Brussels, I announced the launch of Why Open Research?, an educational resource for researchers to learn about the benefits of sharing their work. This is the story of how the project was born and what I hope it will accomplish.

For the last 20 months, I’ve traveled to conferences and universities, speaking to scholarly communications professionals and researchers about open access, open data, and open science. Many of these events were excellent and have been crucial in shaping my thinking about open scholarship. But after awhile I became frustrated that I was often ‘preaching to the choir’. The scholarly communications people in the room needed no convincing that ‘open’ is the way to go, and…

View original post 1,215 more words

Leave a Reply

