Designing CSV files

by

Lost Boy

A couple of the projects I’m involved with at the moment are at a stage where there’s some thinking going on around how to best provide CSV files for users. This has left me thinking about what options we actually have when it comes to designing a CSV file format.

CSV is a very useful, but pretty mundane format. I suspect many of us don’t really think very much about how to organise our CSV files. It’s just a table, right? What decisions do we need to make?

But there are actually quite a few different options we have that might make a specific CSV format more or less suited for specific audiences. So I thought I’d write down some of the options that occured to me. It might be useful input into both my current projects as well as future work on standard formats.

Starting from the “outside in”, we have decisions to make about all…

View original post 1,025 more words

Leave a Reply

