Escaping From Reality

by

A Cartographer's Story

Cartographer’s Story #3, by Jonah Adkins

Primer

My late twenties / early thirties were pretty great externally, both of my daughters were born and I didn’t have too much to complain about. Internally however,  was a different story. Somewhere in there I broke. I had developed some severe anxiety which was developing into agoraphobia. After many months, I was able to get some help to chill all that out while I worked on it. My new job as federal contractor started out pretty great, but I would soon realize it was actually so much worse, and it was sending me into a tailspin of feelings: my taxes pay for this! this will never change! you have to find another job! Finding an escape from this reality became a priority and I found it in running.

Running Away

I pretty much gave up on exercise when I took that first drag…

View original post 1,220 more words

Leave a Reply

