installing openaddresses-machine in a virtualenv

by

Nelson's log

Trying to get a server up running OpenAddresses in a controlled environment. I’m normally very sloppy and install everything as root in /usr, but I figured I should use virtualenv this time. Machine actually has a very nice Chef setup and bootstraps itself regularly in EC2 and Travis contexts, but I’m stubborn and doing it my own way.

Install openaddresses-machine and it’s simple dependencies

  • Prepare a virtualenv directory and activate it
  • pip install Openaddresses-Machine

Install cairocffi. This required a C library I didn’t have

  • sudo apt-get install libffi-dev
  • pip install cairocffi

Install Python GDAL. This is a mess; I’m not sure why the simple “pip install GDAL” doesn’t work from inside the virtualenv. And I’m not sure the instructions below are correct; it’s probably installing python-gdal globally on the system via and then again in the virtualenv via pip. But that gets all the C dependencies we need somewhere on the…

View original post 68 more words

Leave a Reply

