Data-Driven Government

by

Datapolitan

I think like most people, I often use the adjective “data-driven” without having really thought about what it means. I often use it in my data analytics classes as shorthand for how government can be led by data without stopping to discuss the concept or even explain the term.

A recent webcast with Carl Anderson changed that. He was talking about how to create a data-driven organization based on his book. While he drew heavily from his experience in private industry, I began thinking about what this would mean in the context of government and realized I’ve been doing a disservice to my students by not unpacking the term. To be fair, I don’t think anyone has really done this in the context of governing, particularly along the lines that that Anderson advocates in his book. There is an opportunity to develop Anderson’s ideas in the context of government at all…

View original post 843 more words

Leave a Reply

