Why I Do Not Support a Node Foundation

by

hueniverse

I’ve been aware of the node foundation plans for a while. I have been part of the initial discussion group with Joyent back in May, was part of the node technical advisory board (for a bit), and had extensive discussions about this with pretty much every major players in the community. I have opted to keep my opinions offline until now because I didn’t want my (strongly held) positions to become the “opposition” and add more friction to what was already a pretty messy process. But now that the decisions have been made by both the io.js folks (to fork) and Joyent (to form a foundation), I am free to rant publicly.

For the sake of full disclosure, I am generally opposed to any foundation.

This comes from extensive first-hand experience with participating and forming similar foundations. I was an active participant of the early OpenID Foundation, I represented Yahoo…

View original post 1,089 more words

Leave a Reply

